law-focusThe Fourth Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated six candidates for two district court judgeships created by the resignation of the Honorable Barney Iuppa and retirement of the Honorable Thomas Kennedy.

Both vacancies are effective July 1.

Nominees Linda M. Billings-Vela of Woodland Park, Jill M. Brady, Jeffrey D. Lindsey, Steven J. Paul, Jami L. Vigil and Gail Warkentin, all of Colorado Springs, were selected by the nominating commission this week. The succeeding district court judges will fulfill the terms of Iuppa and Kennedy, and then they will face a retention vote at the next general election.

Under the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days from Thursday, May 14, within which to appoint one of the nominees as district court judge for the Fourth Judicial District (El Paso and Teller counties).

Comments regarding any of the nominees may be sent via e-mail to Gov. John Hickenlooper at