City for ChampionsColorado Springs Mayor Steve Bach formally announced the names of the 16 community leaders who will serve on the Regional Tourism Act Advisory Board for the City for Champions initiative.

In accord with Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade guidelines, the Mayor convened a nominating committee, which presented recommendations that the mayor accepted.

“These outstanding leaders will bring a wealth of knowledge to the RTA Advisory Board,” said Mayor Bach. “Their diverse experience and backgrounds will bring a new set of ideas to the table, which through collaboration will further enhance our region’s opportunities for significant tourism growth.”

Co-chairs are Bach, with city chief of staff Steve Cox serving as alternate. Other members include City Council President Keith King, with City Council President Pro Tem Merv Bennett serving as alternate, El Paso County Commission Chair Dennis Hisey and El Paso County Commission Vice Chair Amy Lathen will serve as alternate.

Partner project representatives include: Dick Celeste, United States Olympic Museum; Col. Evan Miller, United States Air Force Academy Visitors Center; Dr. Pam Shockley-Zalabak, UCCS Sports Medicine and Performance Center; and Luke Travins, Colorado Sports and Event Center.

Community members include: Susan Edmondson, Downtown Partnership; Julian Flores, young professional/entrepreneur; Lt. General Mike Gould (USAF-Ret.), El Pomar Foundation; Becky Medved, community leader; Doug Price, CEO, Colorado Springs Convention and Visitors Bureau; Doug Quimby, attorney/real estate development/RLF; Dan Stuart, attorney and community leader; Marvin Strait, certified public accountant and community leader; and Lynn Telford, CEO, Care and Share Food Bank.

- Advertisement -

Ex-officio members include: Bob Cope, City of Colorado Springs Economic Vitality and City for Champions project manager; Jeff Greene, El Paso County administrator; and David Neville, urban renewal authority chair.

The nominating committee included: Merv Bennett, president pro-tem, Colorado Springs City Council; Cope; Stephannie Finley, executive director, UCCS university advocacy and partnerships; Greene; Lathen; and Price.