starSome of them come from the nonprofit sector. Others work in businesses large and small, from banks and credit unions to government.

All of them have stood out enough to warrant special recognition, and now it’s coming to them.

Each year the Colorado Springs Business Journal recognizes the community’s brightest young professionals through its Rising Stars program.

This year we are proud to present 30 Rising Stars. As in the past, Rising Stars are those in the local community 40 and younger who have made significant strides in their careers and who have given back to the community through their dedication to volunteerism and charity.

About 60 people were nominated for the honor this year. An independent panel of judges from the community rated the nominees in five areas that gauged their work ethic and community involvement. Needless to say, many other nominees beyond these winners are likely to be honored in years to come.

We’d like to thank those who submitted nominations this year, and our sponsors who believe as strongly as we do in recognizing the community’s emerging leaders.

- Advertisement -

Congratulations to the 2013 Rising Stars:

Abby Laine Sienkiewicz, Center for Nonprofit Excellence;

Adena Dutter, Colorado Technical University;

Aikta Marcoulier, Small Business Development Center;

Daisy McConnell, UCCS Galleries of Contemporary Art;

Daniel Nordberg, Colorado House of Representatives;

David Amster-Olszewski, SunShare;

Frank Kinder, Colorado Springs Utilities;

Hannah Parsons, Epicentral Coworking;

Jason Grimm, Security Service Federal Credit Union;

Jocelyne Sansing, Pikes Peak Library District;

Kaleb Kohart, Studio C3;

Karl Falk, Summit Mitigation Services;

Kim Worth, BBVA Compass;

Krithika Prashant, City of Colorado Springs;

Kyle Nelson, Colorado Springs Orthopaedic Group;

Lisa Tessarowicz, Red Rock Investments;

Rebecca Reed Jewett, Rocky Mountain Field Institute;

Ron Stauffer, Infront Webworks;

Sara Price, Ent Federal Credit Union;

Shannon Coker, Care and Share Food Bank for Southern Colorado;

Shawn Gullixson, Vectra Bank;

Shayne McCormick, Pikes Peak United Way;

Stephanie Schmuecker, BKD CPAs & Advisors;

Sylvia Sedrak, Leadership Pikes Peak;

Tilah Larson, Pikes Peak Pro Bono Project;

Tucker Wannamaker, Magneti Marketing;

Ty Thompson, Colorado Springs Country Club;

Wes Ashton, Black Hills Energy;

Yani Rehorn, Accounting Solutions;

Zachary McComsey, Atlas Preparatory School

The group will be honored at a reception March 21, from 4 to 6 p.m., at Cheyenne Mountain Resort. Admission will be $25, including heavy hors d’oeuvres and two drinks. The program also will include a forum of young business owners talking about how they became successful. For more information, go to or call 634-5905.


Comments are closed.