Two judges for the Fourth Judicial District have announced their retirement, and the local nominating commission will meet next month to select nominees for the governor’s consideration.

J. Patrick Kelly will retire Oct. 31, and Timothy Simmons will retire Dec. 31.

To be eligible for appointment to fill either vacancy, applicants must be a qualified elector of the Fourth Judicial District and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The salary for the positions is $128,598.

The initial term of office for district judges is a provision term of two years. Incumbent judges must be approved by voters for a term of six years.

Application forms are available from Justice Nancy Rice at 101 W. Colfax, Suite 800 in Denver. Applications are also available on the court’s home page.

The original and seven copies must be filed with Rice no later than noon Friday, Aug. 6. Late applications will not be considered.

- Advertisement -

Other members of the nominating commission are Marry Barrowman of Florissant, Julie Wolfe of Manitou Springs, and Mary Lou Makepeace, Lynn Olney, Trudy Strewler, David Johnson and Mike Edmonds of Colorado Springs.