Gov. Bill Ritter has called for four additional mandatory furlough days for most state employees.

This brings the number of unpaid days off that government workers must take this fiscal year to eight.

The four new days are Jan. 15, Feb. 12, April 2 and May 28 – all Fridays before holiday weekends. Non-essential state workers already have taken two furlough days since July 1 and will take off Nov. 27 and Dec. 31, too.

“Businesses and families all across Colorado are tightening their belts and making tough decisions,” Ritter said in a news release. “So is state government.”