If your phones aren’t ringing as much as usual Monday morning, it could be that many Colorado Springs businesspeople are in windy, cold Washington, D.C.

The Olympic Games in Turino was a compilation of the best winter athletes. We may have the best Colorado Springs business athletes here in D.C.
After an uneventful flight, the delegation representing the Greater Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce’s Legislative Action Mission landed in Washington and checked into the Hotel Washington, which is in the heart of D.C. and close to everything.

The following are some of the reasons why people made the trip:

  • What’s important to Department of Defense contractors also is important to the business community.
  • Conservationists are concerned about buffer zones around Fort Carson.
  • The Council of Governments is interested in the regional impact of Fort Carson.
  • The Economic Development Corp. wants to learn how Colorado Springs can work with the federal government to attract jobs and companies to our region.
  • Some politicians are here to remind their counterparts in Washington to give us our share of federal dollars.
  • The military wants to stress the importance of paying attention to infrastructure.

Here’s a list of the teams and members making up the delegation.

Education Team

Ken Moore – El Paso County Sheriff’s Office
Sara Muirheid – Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce
Brian Burnett – University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
Sharon A. Thomas – School District 11

Defense Team

Col. Liz Anderson – U.S. Air Force, 21st Space Wing
Gordon Bate – Davidson Technologies
Brian Binn – Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce
J.D. Dallager – Collaborx
Col. B. Shannon Davis – 7th Infantry Division, Fort Carson
Mark Earle – Colorado Springs Airport
Maj. Gen. Larry Fortner, U.S. Air Force (Ret)
Lt. Col. Gary Henry – U.S. Air Force Academy
Dennis Hisey – El Paso County commissioner
Lt. Col. Dave Johnson – 7th Infantry Division, Fort Carson
Keith Klaehn – Town & Country Realty Inc.
Tony Koren – Northstone Group
Lorne Kramer – City of Colorado Springs
Rob Macdonald – Pikes Peak Area Council of Governments
Jeff Markovich – Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce
Bill Marshall – Vice president of Legislative Affairs
Gerry Place – Officescapes
Rogers Redding – University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
Joe Reich – The Reich Co.
Frogard Ryan – The Nature Conservancy
Vince Shoemaker – Bryan Construction
Sharon Siedler – Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Bob Stein – Chairman of the Military Affairs Board of the Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce
Col. Richard Stonestreet – U.S. Air Force Academy
Tom Warren – Fort Carson

- Advertisement -

Business Team

Vic Andrews – USAA
Gar Anneler – UMB Bank
Matt Barrett – Small Business Development Center
Sarah Brittain Jack – The Housing & Building Association of Colorado Springs
Sallie Clark – El Paso County commissioner
Dave Csintyan – Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce
Jeff Greene – El Paso County
Steve Grissett – Aleut Management Services
Michael Kazmierski – Colorado Springs Economic Development Corp.
Harold Larson –SCORE
Nancy Lewis – Garden of the Gods Foundation
Lon P. Matejczyk – Colorado Springs Business Journal
Venkat Reddy – University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
Kelly Roth – Delta Solutions & Strategies
Bob Stovall – City of Colorado Springs
Will Temby – Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce

Homeland Security

Tom Allee – Frontier Airlines
Jim Bensberg – El Paso County commissioner
Howard Brooks – Pikes Peak United Way
Andy Cain – Delta Solutions & Strategies
Steve Cox – Colorado Springs Fire Department
Amy Folsom Mullaney – 4th Judicial District Attorney
Jen Furda – Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce
Terry Maketa – El Paso County Sheriff
Carla Malmquist – Pikes Peak Community College
Sherri Newell – Colorado Springs Utilities
John Newsome – 4th Judicial District Attorney
Col Mike Resty – United States Army Garrison
Bret Waters – Colorado Springs Office of Emergency Management
Martin Wood – University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
Paul Zani – El Paso County Sheriff’s Office

International Team

Clarissa Arellano – Pikes Peak Association of Realtors
George Boutin – Office of International Affairs
Jeremy Haefner – University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
Dan Hodges – Colorado Springs Utilities
Wynne Palermo – Wynne Realty
Jim Reid – El Paso County Sheriff’s Office
Aida Richardson – Breckenridge Group ME
Terry Sullivan – Convention & Visitors Bureau

You can e-mail questions or special requests while I’m in D.C. to lon.matejczyk@csbj.com